Registration

ONLINE The Business of Audiobooks

Saturday, Oct 24, 2020 – Sunday, Oct 25, 2020

5:00pm – 8:00pm

Online Class!!

2 x 3 hour interactive sessions on Saturday and Sunday taught by Dawn Harvey through Zoom.

The class is open to anyone anywhere in the world, as long as you can make the time work for you and can communicate successfully in English.

Both sessions start at 5pm Eastern (2pm Pacific, 3pm Mountain, 6pm Atlantic).

While paper and e-book sales continue their steady downward decline, the audiobook industry continues to grow by leaps and bounds, increasing by approximately 20-25% year after year after year. This course is designed to help you navigate the path to finding and booking work in this fast-growing profession.

The audiobook world is unlike any other in the voiceover and acting professions. This is publishing, not entertainment, and agents and casting directors have no place here.  In “The Business of Audiobooks,” Dawn takes her students through the various methods of finding work in the world of authors, the public domain and publishers, both large and small. The class will cover topics such as:

  • auditioning;
  • demos;
  • rates;
  • union provisions and considerations;
  • using ACX and other ways of connecting with independent authors;
  • producing public domain works;
  • connecting with publishers;
  • networking;
  • websites and other social media;
  • marketing practices; and
  • any other topics that arise from these discussions.

Dawn Harvey has been teaching audiobook narration since 2014 and began directing audiobooks for a Canadian publisher in 2019. Dawn has always been passionate about sharing her knowledge, previously teaching classes in oil and gas law. She has taught her audiobook business and performance workshops multiple times throughout western Canada and began working with private students from across the country and around the globe in 2017.

She has received several Earphone and SOVAS Awards for her audiobook work.

Class fee: $295 + tax

When registering, please select the fee for your province of residence or choose the International fee for those residing outside of Canada – this ensures that you are charged the appropriate rate of sales tax.

Event Category

Online

Event Location

Online Class – Zoom

Event Fees

AB, NT, NU, YT
CAD 309.75
BC, MB
CAD 330.40
NB, NL, NS, PEI
CAD 339.25
ON
CAD 333.35
QC
CAD 339.18
SK
CAD 327.45
International
CAD 295.00

Total Seats

15

Remaining Seats

13